• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 vdo

vdo

• Active Members
  • 63 posts
  • us

Posted 08 August 2011 - 02:19 PM

I'm currently visiting my husband in the UK and will be returning to the US for my study in Sept. I plan to graduate early, the intended date to travel is early Dec. I want to apply for the spousal visa when I get back, sending everything to the UK Consulate in NY before going back to Uni. My husband and I are trying to gather everything we need for the application. Here is my list:

• Passport + 1 passport photo
    Previous passports
    I-20; I-94; + letter confirming enrollment & student status (I'm an international student and have been studying in the US for 3 years)
    Settlement VAFA4A - Fill out online & Print
    (Sponsorship Undertaking Form SU 07) => is it required???
    Priority Receipt (after I pay for it)
Supporting Documents:
Marriage Certificate (married in 2010)
  • Hubby’s Passport (Certified or Colour copy + Long form Birth certificate or Original) => We haven't decided on which way to go but my question is, will I be questioned at the airport for carrying his original passport or birth certificate with me?
    Cover letter + Sponsor’s letter
    His Bank statements (3 months);
    Employment contract or Letter from Employer confirming salary & length of employment. =>He has just graduated from university and just started this job, earning £200+/week. By the time I leave, he will have only 1 pay slip. Will this hurt our chance? Should he explain this in the letter?
    We are staying at my in-laws and will not have to pay rent or any expenses. What should I include for details of accommodation? Land Registry/ Mortgage statements or Council Tax Statements or Utilities bills + Floor Plan + Permission to stay letter? My in-laws are going on holiday at the end of the month so we need to let them know what we need from them so that they can sort it out before they leave.