17 replies to this topic

#1 Daniel K

Daniel K

• Members
  • 7 posts
  • ca

Posted 29 October 2012 - 05:59 PM

Hello,

I am a Russian citizen working in Canada and going to the UK to work there. I stay in Canada under a work permit, which is a temporary permission, i.e., it has an expiry date. In other words, I am a resident in Canada but I am not a permanent resident. According to the information I found and an answer I got from WorldBridge, I am not allowed to apply for the Tier 2 visa from Canada. However, it appears to be illogical and very inconvenient that I have to go to Russia and wait there while I am in fact residing and working in Canada.

There is some detail that make me doubt that I really have to apply from Russia. On the webpage of the UK embassy in Canada, I found the following (http://www.ukba.home...me=UK%20English):

If you have temporary permission to stay (for example, as a visitor) in the country where you are currently living, you cannot apply for most types of UK visa in that country. You can only apply for:

• a visitor visa
  • a Tier 5 (Temporary worker - creative and sporting) visa
  • an EEA family permit
Your application may be referred back to your country of residence, which may cause delays.

It might be OK with me if they just delay my application a little bit but let me apply from Canada. I am just worried that they may not let me apply from Canada at all or reject my application as a wrong one.

Thank you in advance!

#2 SkillClear

SkillClear

SkillClear Work Permit, Tier 1 HSMP and UK Immigration Services

• UK Immigration Consultants
  • 5,747 posts
  • uk

Posted 30 October 2012 - 12:57 AM

You would usually be ok to apply if you have at least a few months remaining validity on a work visa - the High Commission would not want to risk causing you to overstay. Have you not checked with Worldbridge or the local British High Commission?

#3 Daniel K

Daniel K

• Members
  • 7 posts
  • ca

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:07 AM